2 October 2019

In the recently concluded University of Malaya Competition for Young Mathematicians (UMCYM), Sunway College (KL) team won champion in the Senior Category and several individual awards. The winning team consists of Tan Hui Ru Kimberley, Lim Ming Yean, Chew Tze Lin and Philip Lee Hann Yung.


UMCYM is an initiative and a continual effort by the Institute of Mathematical Sciences (ISM), Faculty of Science, University of Malaya (UM) to recognize outstanding mathematics students from secondary schools and colleges. Initiated in 2016, this event aims to identify and reward excellence in mathematics; to draw community attention to this excellence; to promote mathematics interest in the community; and to provide an avenue of communication between secondary schools, colleges, and ISM.

This year, there were 144 participants in the Senior Category from a total of 14 secondary schools/colleges; and 65 participants in Junior Category from a total of 8 secondary schools and one primary school. Tan Hui Ru Kimberley emerged as the individual Champion for the Senior category while Lim Ming Yean won the first runner-up. Chew Tze Lin and Seow Teck Xiang won the Honourable Mentions. The team also won the same competition last year; with Ming Yean and Philip winning the 1st runners-up while Tze Lin and Kimberley won the Honourable Mentions.

Congratulations to all!